Skip To The Main Content

Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium

 

Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium | 710 N. Lake Shore Drive, Suite 1417 | Chicago, IL 60611 | http://www.neurology.northwestern.edu/research/clinical-trials.html
 

The Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium (CSTC) led by the RCC at The University of Chicago is a collaborative network of 7 centers in the Chicago metropolitan area: Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Lurie Children’s Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago, Rush University Medical Center, Loyola University Chicago, and the Hektoen Institute for Medical Research/John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County. The RCC aims to combine resources, diverse faculty with stroke expertise, and access to a multi-ethnic population of stroke patients from a combined geographic referral base encompassing almost 10 million people. The amassed investigators have backgrounds in all aspects of stroke research and leadership roles. The CSTC aims to provide cutting-edge stroke treatments to a diverse patient population, provide consolidated multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional expertise and leadership for Network trials, and ensure mentoring for the next generation of stroke investigators.

Principal Investigator: 
Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS, FAHA, FANA
Professor and Chair of Neurology
The University of Chicago Biological Sciences
5841 S. Maryland Ave.
MC 2030, S-237
Chicago, IL 60637                                                                                                              
Email: shyam1@uchicago.edu
 
Areas of Interest: intracranial stenosis, acute stroke, transient ischemic attack 

Co- Investigator(s):
Fran Z. Caprio, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurology, Division of Stroke and Neurocritical Care
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
625 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 1150
Chicago, IL 60611                                                       
Email: fan.caprio@nm.org

Areas of Interest:  cryptogenic stroke, stroke in the young, acute stroke process improvement,telestroke
 
Coordinator:
Mariel Dronson

Department of Neurology
The University of Chicago Biological Sciences
5841 S. Maryland Ave. MC 2030
Chicago, IL 60637
Email: m.dronson@neurology.bsd.uchicago.edu

Website Link: http://www.nm.org/conditions-and-care-areas/neurosciences/comprehensive-stroke-centers

SATELLITE SITES:

SHIRLEY RYAN ABILITYLAB

Site PI:  Elliot Roth, MD
eroth@ric.org

Coordinator: 
 
Website Link:  http://www.sralab.org/conditions/stroke-recovery
                               
ANN & ROBERT H. LURIE CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL OF CHICAGO
Site PI:   Jonathan Kurz, MD
jonathan.kurz@northwestern.edu

Coordinator:  

Website Linkhttps://www.luriechildrens.org/en/specialties-conditions/neurovascular-disease-and-stroke-program/

RUSH UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER

Site PI: James Conners, MD
James_conners@rush.edu

Coordinator: Drew Simon
drew_s_simon@rush.edu
 
Website Link:     http://www.rush.edu/rumc/page-1167751311467.html

UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO
Site PI: Shyam Prabhakaran, MD
shyam1@neurology.bsd.uchicago.edu 

Coordinator: Mariel Dronson
 cdronson@neurology.bsd.uchicago.edu

Website Link:  http://www.uchospitals.edu/specialties/neurosciences/stroke-neurovascular/stroke.html

LOYOLA UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER
Site PI’s:  José Biller, MD, FACP, FAAN, FANA, FAHA
jbiller@lumc.edu

Coordinator:  Maria Chavez
 mchavez11@luc.edu

Website Link: http://loyolamedicine.org/medical-services/neurology-services
 
JOHN H. STROGER JR. HOSPITAL OF COOK COUNTY
Site PI: Lakshmi Warrior, MD
lwarrior@cookcountyhhs.org

Coordinator: 

Website Link:   http://www.cookcountyhhs.org/medical-clinicalservices/department-medicine/neurology/john-h-stroger-jr-hospital-stroke-program/

CENTRAL DUPAGE HOSPITAL
Site PI: Harish Shownkeen, MD
harish.shownkeen@cadencehealth.org

Coordinator:  Robin Schmidt
 robin.schmidt@nm.org

Website Link: http://www.cadencehealth.org/health-professionals/clinical-trials-trials-neuro

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT CHICAGO
Site PI: Sepideh Amin-Hanjani, MD
hanjani@uic.edu

Site PI:  Fernando Testai, MD, PhD
testai@uic.edu

Coordinator:  Linda Rose-Finnell
lfinnell@uic.edu

Coordinator: Maureen Hillman, RN
hillman@uic.edu

Website Link:  https://chicago.medicine.uic.edu/departments/academic-departments/neurology-rehabilitation/neurology-services/uic-stroke-neurocritical-care/

MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN
Site PI:  Marc Lazzaro, MD
mlazzaro@mcw.edu

Coordinator:  Tiffany Morse
 morse@mcw.edu

Website Link:  https://www.mcw.edu/Neurology/Stroke-Neurointervention-Critical-Care.htm

HINES VA
Site PI:  Rishi Garg, MD

Website Link:  https://www.hines.va.gov/

NORTHWEST COMMUNITY HOSPITAL
Site PI:  Brian Walcott
 bwalcott@northshore.org
 
Coordinator:  Laura Lozano
 llozano@nch.org
 
Website Link:  https://www.nch.org/treatment-care/neurology-stroke/stroke-program