Skip To The Main Content

Southest Collaborative Alliance for Stroke Trials (SE-CoAST)


  SE-CoAST provides a large integrated clinical trials network throughout South Carolina, western North Carolina, and northeast Georgia that engages and enlists urban and rural/underserved communities and hospitals into the clinical research enterprise and disseminates best clinical and research practices throughout the state where stroke remains a major health hazard. 
SE-CoAST is housed at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston in conjunction with the Augusta, University, Greenville Health System, Guilford Neurological Associates, and Palmetto Health/University of South Carolina. SE-CoAST conducts interdisciplinary trials of interventions for stroke prevention, treatment, and recovery. 

MUSC Stroke Center

Augusta University Medical Center

GHS Neurological Institute

Guilford Neurological Associates

USC Neurology
 
 MUSC
 

Principal Investigator  
Tanya Turan, MD
Professor of Neurology

Director, Stroke Division
843-792-3020
turan@musc.edu

 
Co-Investigators
Marc I. Chimowitz, MBChB
Professor, Department of Neurosciences
(843) 792-9736
mchimow@musc.edu
 
Dan Lackland, PhD
Professor, College of Medicine, Dept of Neurology
Professor, Dept of Biometry and Epidemiology
SE-CoAST Career Enhancement Program Director
843-876-1141
lackland@musc.edu
 
Christine Holmstedt, DO
Associate. Professor, Dept of Neurology/EM
Associate Professor. MUSC Teleneuroscience Program
843-792-3020
holmsted@musc.edu

Edward C. Jauch, MD, MS
Chief of System Research
Mission Health System
Asheville, NC
828-213-7038
edward.jauch@msj.org
 
Coordinators
Cheryl Grant
SE-CoAST Network Manager
Telehealth Outcomes Coordinator
843-792-7118
grantche@musc.edu

Vicki Streets
Program Coordinator II
SE-CoAST Lead Study Coordinator
843-792-8606
streetsv@musc.edu
 

Augusta

Jeffrey A. Switzer, DO, MCTS
Associate Professor of Neurology
Augusta University Medical Center
1120 15th Street
Augusta, GA 30912
706-721-1691
jswitzer@augusta.edu

Kori Williams, BSB
Research Assistant, Clinical Trials Office
Augusta University
706-721-2675
korwilliams@augusta.edu
 
 
Guilford

Pramod Sethi, MD
Director-Stroke Center Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital
912 3rd Street
Greensboro, NC 27405
336-840-3772
Pramod.sethi@conehealth.com

Rizwan Sabir
Clinical Trials Manager
336-516-9104
rizwan.sabir@gnr.clinics

Greenville

Sanjeev Sivakumar, MD
Neuroscience Associates
701 Grove Road
Greenville SC 29615
864-254-8646
ssivakumar@ghs.org

Paulo L. Zortea, MD
Neurology Attending
Neuroscience Associates
864-454-4500
pzortea@ghs.org

Shannon Sternberg, RN, MSN, MBA, CNRN
Stroke Program Manager
864-455-8848
ssternberg@ghs.org

Enrique Urrea Mendoza
Advanced Clinical Research Associate
Neuroscience Associates
864-454-5076
eurreamendoza@ghs.org

Univ of SC

Souvik Sen, MD, MS
Department Chair and Professor of Neurology
Palmetto Health
1301 Taylor St., Ste 9A
Columbia, SC 29201
803-545-6073
souvik.sen@uscmed.sc.edu
  

Kolby Redd, PhD, MHA
Administrator, Clinical Research
Dept. of Neurology
803-545-6078
kolby.redd@uscmed.sc.edu
  
Brittiny McMillian
Research Coordinator
University of South Carolina School of Medicine
803-545-6103
brittiny.mcmillian@uscmed.sc.edu