Skip To The Main Content

Southern New England Partnership in Stroke Research, Innovation and Treatment (SPIRIT)


Southern New England Partnership in Stroke Research, Innovation and Treatment (SPIRIT)

The Southern New England Partnership in Stroke Research, Innovation and Treatment (SPIRIT) is anchored by 3 leading institutions: Yale School of Medicine, the Warren Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University and Hartford Hospital.  Each hub is a comprehensive stroke center with 14 total primary stroke centers.  Yale, Brown and Hartford Hospital, and their respective networks, SPIRIT captures a diverse geographic area that provides access to 5.7 million people, including most adult and pediatric stroke patients in Connecticut and Rhode Island.

SPIRIT (Southern New England Partnership in Stroke Research, Innovation and Treatment)

15 York Street
LCI 1004
New Haven, CT  06520

  1. https://medicine.yale.edu/neurology/patients/vascular_neuro/
  2. https://www.lifespan.org/centers-services/comprehensive-stroke-center-rhode-island-hospital
  3. https://hartfordhealthcare.org/services/stroke-center

PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR

Dr. Kevin Sheth
Chief, Division of Neurocritical Care and Emergency Neurology
Yale University
Phone: 443-615-4729
email: kevin.sheth@yale.edu

Areas of Interest: Secondary Brain Injury and Inflammation, Novel clinical trial design for prevention, Mechanisms of injury and recovery for translation.
 

CO-PRINCIPLE INVESTIGATORS

Karen L. Furie, MD
Professor of Neurology, Chair of Neurology
The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Chief of Neurology
Rhode Island, The Miriam and Bradley Hospitals
Samuel I. Kennison, MD and Bertha S. Kennison Professor of Clinical Neuroscience
Professor of Neurology, Chair of Neurology
Phone: 401-444-8795
email: kfurie@lifespan.org

Areas of Interest: Stroke prevention, Acute stroke/ neurointerventional, Neurocritical care
 

Dr. Mark Alberts
Physician-in-chief, Ayer Neuroscience Institute Hartford Healthcare
Chief, Department of Neurology, Hartford Hospital
Phone: 860-972-9618
email: mark.alberts@hhchealth.org

Areas of Interest: Acute stroke care, Secondary stroke prevention,  Stroke centers/stroke systems of care 
 

Clinical Coordinator
Sara Jasak, BSN
Clinical Research Manager
Phone:  203-785-3332
email: sara.jasak@yale.edu

RHODE ISLAND HOSPITAL CO-INVESTIGATOR
Tina M. Burton, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurology
The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Rhode Island Hospital, Department of Neurology, Division of Vascular Neurology
Phone: 401-444-8806
email: tina.burton@lifespan.org

RHODE ISLAND HOSPITAL PRIMARY COORDINATOR
Ashley Schomer
Clinical Research Program Coordinator
Phone: 401-606-4387
email: Ashley.Schomer@lifespan.org

HARTFORD HEALTHCARE  CO-INVESTIGATOR
Amre Nouh, MD
Director, Comprehensive Stroke Center at Hartford Hospital
Phone: 860-972-3621
email: amre.nouh@hhchealth.org

 

HARTFORD HEALTHCARE PRIMARY COORDINATOR
Laura Grenier
Clinical Research Associate
Phone: 860-972-9705
email: laura.grenier@hhchealth.org

 

YALE UNIVERSITY CO-INVESTIGATOR
Lauren Sansing, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology
Phone: 203-785-4085
email: lauren.sansing@yale.edu