Skip To The Main Content

StrokeBelt StrokeNet (SBSN)


StrokeBelt StrokeNet (SBSN)

StrokeBelt / StrokeNet


The StrokeBelt StrokeNet (SBSN) will benefit from the established infrastructure, basic science and clinical stroke expertise, and stroke clinical trial experience at University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) and our established partner institutions in the Southeastern US, including Children’s of Alabama, the UAB/Lakeshore Research Collaborative, the University of Mississippi Medical Center, and the University of South Alabama. The SBSN will offer combined access to nearly 3,500 acute stroke patients annually, many of them minorities, in an underserved part of the US. A major focus of SBSN will be inclusion of underrepresented and minority populations in clinical stroke research.

University of Mississippi  Medical Center University of South Alabama Medical Center Lakeshore Children's Hospital of Alabama
 

PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR

Toby Ira Gropen, MD, FAHA | James H. Halsey Jr., MD Endowed Professor
Chief, Division of Cerebrovascular Disease/Department of Neurology
Director, Comprehensive Neurovascular and Stroke Center
UAB RWUH M226
619 19th Street South Birmingham, AL 35249
tgropen@uabmc.edu
(205) 934-2401

Mark Harrigan, MD
Professor of Neurosurgery, Neurology and Radiology
Medical Director, Department of Neurosurgery
Medical Director, Neurointervention
Professor of Neurosurgery
mharrigan@uabmc.edu
(205) 996-2536

Ronald M. Lazar, PhD, FAHA, FAAN, Evelyn F. McKnight Endowed Chair
Director, UAB Evelyn F. McKnight Brain Institute
Medical Director, Department of Neurosurgery
Division Director, Neuropsychology (Neurology)
Professor of Neurosurgery
rlazar@uabmc.edu
(205) 934-2334

 

PARTNER SITE PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATORS

University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, Mississippi
Chad Washington, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurology
cwashington4@umc.edu
(601) 984-5700

Shashank Shekhar, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurology
sshekhar@umc.edu
(601) 984-5500

University of South Alabama, Mobile, Alabama
Steve M. Cordina, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology
University of South Alabama
scordina@health.southalabama.edu
(251) 445-8292

Lakeshore Foundation Rehabilitation Center, Birmingham, Alabama
James Rimmer, PhD
Lakeshore Foundation Endowed Chair and Professor in Health Promotion and Rehabilitation Sciences
jrimmer@uab.edu
(251) 975-9010

Children’s Hospital of Alabama, Birmingham, Alabama
Tony McGrath, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology
Program Director, Child Neurology Residency Program
TMcGrath@peds.uab.edu
(251) 996-7850