Skip To The Main Content

Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium

 

Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium | 710 N. Lake Shore Drive, Suite 1417 | Chicago, IL 60611 | http://www.neurology.northwestern.edu/research/clinical-trials.html
 

The Chicago Stroke Trials Consortium (CSTC) led by the RCC at Northwestern University is a collaborative network of 7 centers in the Chicago metropolitan area: Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Lurie Children’s Hospital, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago, the University of Chicago, Rush University Medical Center, Loyola University Chicago, and the Hektoen Institute for Medical Research/John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County. The RCC aims to combine resources, diverse faculty with stroke expertise, and access to a multi-ethnic population of stroke patients from a combined geographic referral base encompassing almost 10 million people. The amassed investigators have backgrounds in all aspects of stroke research and leadership roles. The CSTC aims to provide cutting-edge stroke treatments to a diverse patient population, provide consolidated multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional expertise and leadership for Network trials, and ensure mentoring for the next generation of stroke investigators.

Principal Investigator: 
Shyam Prabhakaran, MD, MS, FAHA, FANA
Professor of Neurology
Director, Stroke Research
Director, Vascular Neurology Fellowship
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
633 N. St. Clair, 20th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611                                                                                                           
Email: sprabhak@nm.org
 
Areas of Interest: intracranial stenosis, acute stroke, transient ischemic attack 

Co- Investigator(s):
Amdrew Naidech, MD, MSPH
Professor of Neurology, Anesthesiology, Medical Social Sciences, Neurological and Preventive Medicine
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
633 N. St. Clair, 20th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611                                                       
Email: anaidech@nm.org

Areas of Interest: Neurocritical care, critical stroke, stroke

Project Manager:
Erin Wymore, CCRP
Northwestern University
633 N. St. Clair, 20th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
Ph# 312-503-3243
Email:  erin.wymore@northwestern.edu

Website Link: http://www.nm.org/conditions-and-care-areas/neurosciences/comprehensive-stroke-centers

SATELLITE SITES:

SHIRLEY RYAN ABILITYLAB

Site PI:  Elliot Roth, MD
eroth@ric.org

Coordinator:  Sneha Solanki
ssolanki02@sralab.org
 
Website Link:  http://www.sralab.org/conditions/stroke-recovery
                               
ANN & ROBERT H. LURIE CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL OF CHICAGO
Site PI:   Jonathan Kurz, MD
jonathan.kurz@northwestern.edu

Coordinator:  Allison Rusie
arusie@luriechildrens.org

Website Linkhttps://www.luriechildrens.org/en/specialties-conditions/neurovascular-disease-and-stroke-program/

RUSH UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER

Site PI: James Conners, MD
James_conners@rush.edu

Coordinator: Tiffany Singson
tiffany_singson@rush.edu
 
Website Link:     http://www.rush.edu/rumc/page-1167751311467.html

UNIVERSITY OF CHICAGO
Site PI: James Brorson, MD
jbrorson@neurology.bsd.uchicago.edu

Coordinator: Cedric McKoy, MSN, ACNP
cedric.mckoy@uchospitals.edu

Website Link:  http://www.uchospitals.edu/specialties/neurosciences/stroke-neurovascular/stroke.html

LOYOLA UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER
Site PI’s:  José Biller, MD, FACP, FAAN, FANA, FAHA
jbiller@lumc.edu

Coordinator:  Katelynn Prodoehl, BSN, RN
 kprodoehl@lumc.edu

Website Link: http://loyolamedicine.org/medical-services/neurology-services
 
JOHN H. STROGER JR. HOSPITAL OF COOK COUNTY
Site PI: Lakshmi Warrior, MD
lwarrior@cookcountyhhs.org

Coordinator: Adaku Uzomba, RN, APN
auzomba@cookcountyhhs.org

Website Link:   http://www.cookcountyhhs.org/medical-clinicalservices/department-medicine/neurology/john-h-stroger-jr-hospital-stroke-program/

CENTRAL DUPAGE HOSPITAL
Site PI: Harish Shownkeen, MD
harish.shownkeen@cadencehealth.org

Coordinator:  Komal Shama
komal.sharma@nm.org

Website Link: http://www.cadencehealth.org/health-professionals/clinical-trials-trials-neuro

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT CHICAGO
Site PI: Sepideh Amin-Hanjani, MD
hanjani@uic.edu

Site PI:  Fernando Testai, MD, PhD
testai@uic.edu

Coordinator:  Linda Rose-Finnell
lfinnell@uic.edu

Coordinator: Maureen Hillman, RN
hillman@uic.edu

Website Link:  https://chicago.medicine.uic.edu/departments/academic-departments/neurology-rehabilitation/neurology-services/uic-stroke-neurocritical-care/

MEDICAL COLLEGE OF WISCONSIN
Site PI:  Marc Lazzaro, MD
mlazzaro@mcw.edu

Coordinator:  Jennifer Brown
jlbrown@mcw.edu

Website Link:  https://www.mcw.edu/Neurology/Stroke-Neurointervention-Critical-Care.htm

HINES VA
Site PI:  Rishi Garg, MD

Website Link:  https://www.hines.va.gov/

NORTHWEST COMMUNITY HOSPITAL
Site PI:  Ali Shaibani, MD
Ali.shaibani@nm.org

Coordinator:  Nataliya Omelchenko
nomelchenk@nch.org

Coordinator:  Phyllis Cerone
pcerone@nch.org

Website Link:  https://www.nch.org/treatment-care/neurology-stroke/stroke-program